PUBLIC LAND BOWHUNTERS
Welcome to the PUBLIC LAND BOWHUNTERS forum.

On behalf of public land bowhunters, throughout our great nation, I work on this forum almost daily. I am striving to make this forum the very best all public land, bowhunting forum on the internet.

Look around, see if THIS FORUM is something YOU want to be a part of. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so join our forum today! All the best.-
Dave Mullins Forum Creator/Admin/Mod

Miles To Go

Go down

Miles To Go

Post by Snakespit on Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:16 am

I'll be 67 years old in a couple of weeks,I've been bowhunting for 43 years,I haven't killed a ton of deer,just a few,I have never killed one from a treestand,I always prefered roaming around wanting to see what was over the next ridge,sitting on a log or tree stump for a while observing nature then moving on.I know your chances of tagging a deer are a lot better in a tree,but is that what it is all about? If you watch Outdoor channels or Videos,the younger generation of bow hunters are being taught to go climb in a tree on the edge of a food plot with a 350 fps compound bow and kill a deer, what are they learning about nature or the critters that live there,the foods that grow there,I know you are thinking this old goat is aginst change,not at all just saying take a kid do some ground hunting let him see nature at ground level eye to eye with nature. A few months ago I took a fellow publicland bowhunter to a couple of places I have found in my roaming,he had hunted the area for 15 years and did not know about these places,I showed him a rock with the date 1875 carved in it ,i showed him the biggest rub trees he had seen in this area, you don't find these things sitting in a tree, this bow season try roaming around a little you don't know what you might find.

Snakespit

Back to top Go down

Re: Miles To Go

Post by Waiting4Fall on Thu Jul 04, 2013 11:21 am